Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group

Information

Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group

This group is for bloggers who would like to review books from New Leaf Publishing Group. All reviewers must sign up to be members of Creation Conversations in order to post your reviews, questions, and comments.  

Website: http://nlpg.com
Members: 280
Latest Activity: Feb 24, 2016

Book Review Team for NLPG.com

New Book for Review TBA Soon!

Are you a blogger who loves to share books? Do you share your blog posts using social media platforms including Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, bookmarking sites and more?
Required for your Review:

1.       Requesting digital review copies indicates that you will post your review on the book product page on your blog, Amazon.com, Christianbook.com, and Goodreads.com. We are SUPER thankful when you also post on BN.com, iTunes, and others.
 

2.       You must provide the links to your reviews so that we can share them with the author, bookmark them for social sharing, and perhaps use some of your feedback in marketing materials. Below you will see a description of our current review title along with a linkup at the bottom. Be sure to add the link to your review there.

 

3.       Include in your review the following:

  • Book image cover linked to the book on nlpg.com (found on product page at nlpg.com)
  • Video Book Trailer embedded in the blog post (found on product page at nlpg.com)
  • Mention of the author with links to his/her website and social media profiles when available (found on author bio page at nlpg.com)
  • Mention of the publisher and imprint with link to nlpg.com. For instance, “this book is published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group.”
  • At least 2 paragraphs of your review should be your own thoughts about the book. Only listing the information provided on the product page is unacceptable.
  • The link to the blog page where the review link-up is happening.
  • Pinnable (to Pinterest) images including quotes or images of the book will be shared and you will reap the traffic and SEO rewards!

Discussion Forum

Are books still being made available for review?

We recently moved back to Michigan and I've missed the wonderful books made available for review. I noticed that the "latest activity" was around May of this year with other posts referencing October 2013. Did I miss an email announcement somewhere…Continue

Started by Heather Hurley Sep 1, 2014.

Questions God Asks 14 Replies

In an attempt to make review posts easier to locate, we're going to try something new this month. Instead of commenting on the general wall for the group, Please share your review links here inside the designated discussion before going to…Continue

Started by April Keown. Last reply by Daniel Greegor Jun 24, 2014.

Next Book for Review? 7 Replies

When will the next book we available to review?Continue

Started by Ginger Barber. Last reply by valerie belley Apr 10, 2014.

The New Answers Book 4 3 Replies

Is there a link up for this one?Continue

Started by Anne Campbell. Last reply by April Keown Dec 3, 2013.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group to add comments!

Comment by tickmenot on July 9, 2014 at 4:28pm

I completely agree with Vera Godley.  Very well said as well!  Thank you Vera.

Comment by Sarah on July 8, 2014 at 7:20pm

Yikes, I had no idea e-book vs. physical would raise so much ire :(

Comment by Jalynn Patterson on June 16, 2014 at 3:10pm

I totally agree with Vera! 100 percent!

Comment by April Keown on June 4, 2014 at 4:14pm

Vera, 

There is far more to this but I would love for you to privately email me to discuss this further.  april@newleafpress.net  

Comment by Vera Godley on June 4, 2014 at 3:03pm

April Keown - As a book lover, mother of 5 grown children and 13 grandchildren and 1 great-grandchild due in September, employee (long-term) in a Christian school, etc. etc. - I can only say that your decision to offer only digital versions of books to reviewers is disturbing. The publishing industry is replete with chaos in today's market and one of the largest contributors to that problem is the e-book. Another is the Amazon.com marketplace that undeminds the "super market bookstore" as well as the corner bookstore. Pricing for books has been undermined drastically with the inception of the internet market and now here comes the e-book market to again undercut the published book sale price and the local vendor.

I empathize with publishers, especially Christian book publishers, in their distress. They cater to a limited market to begin with. So while it might seem like a publishers dream to not actually have the cost of hard-copy publishing, you ABSOLUTELY WILL see a decline because of the e-market.

I'm not one of those behind-the-times granny. I do keep up with things digital. I am still a viable force in the work force and on the internet.

I believe literacy will see a decline world-wide because of the e-book and because the published page in paper form will become no longer widely available. This will be a sad day when it occurs.

Now bottom line financially, what keeps the boss happy is what the worker bees opt to do. Always a truism. So I understand, April Keown, the new decision. Your publishing group is not the only publishing group to offer ebooks to reviewers. But not all reviewers will accept the limitations of an e-book for their product to review.

I prefer printed versions to review because.....

  1. I simply love to hold a real book whose pages I can ruffle, fondle, flip
  2. I give reviewed books to my family - especially my grand children. (All of whom read e-books, but who love and prefer print versions.)
  3. I give the majority of my reviewed books to the Alamance Christian School library. They are catalogued and shelved for YEARS of circulation in the school library.
  4. I use books to encourage literacy and love of reading.

I have reviewed each and every book sent to me by this publishing group and have done so with joy. It has been a pleasure. It has especially been a pleasure to be in a position to encourage God's word and His creation to my blog readers - many which are not Christian. I would like to continue to review for you, but will only do so when and if print versions are available.

Comment by Daniel Greegor on June 4, 2014 at 12:32pm
Comment by Tim-Melissa Williamson on May 2, 2014 at 2:38pm

I'm actually a big fan of the digital versions :) Although I do like to be able to loan my resources when I can for reviewing digital is much more convenient and I'm also low on shelf-space since we homeschool! 

Comment by April Keown on April 23, 2014 at 9:27am

At this time I am fully intending to continue to use digital books unless it is not a realistic option for a particular title.  I am definitely watching closely to see how this affects our review numbers and completion rates though.  :) 

Comment by Cheri A Fields on April 22, 2014 at 12:30pm

I'm in the paper book crowd. I don't have an e-reader and already spend too much time in front of a screen. It's way easier to sit in the sand with a real book while my kids play. Ditto for reading to them on the couch.

The only advantage of digital is keeping you in business!

Comment by Jalynn Patterson on April 22, 2014 at 10:54am

April, Will you be offering traditional books in the future?

 
 
 

About CC

Connecting Christians who believe in Biblical Creation — discussing beliefs, sharing ideas, and recommending evolution-free resources. Please keep all posts relevant to the topics of this community.

Rules of Engagement
Zero Tolerance Policy
Statement of Faith
Creation Terms
FAQ

Homeschool Curriculum

Members

Groups

Creation Conversations 2017

What's new @ CC for 2017? Stay tuned and keep checking back. More ask the experts, more creation networking and much more in store for Creation Conversation Members. You'll not want to miss this new year!

© 2017   Created by Creation Conversations.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service