Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group

Information

Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group

This group is for bloggers who would like to review books from New Leaf Publishing Group. All reviewers must sign up to be members of Creation Conversations in order to post your reviews, questions, and comments.  

Website: http://nlpg.com
Members: 280
Latest Activity: Feb 24, 2016

Book Review Team for NLPG.com

New Book for Review TBA Soon!

Are you a blogger who loves to share books? Do you share your blog posts using social media platforms including Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, bookmarking sites and more?
Required for your Review:

1.       Requesting digital review copies indicates that you will post your review on the book product page on your blog, Amazon.com, Christianbook.com, and Goodreads.com. We are SUPER thankful when you also post on BN.com, iTunes, and others.
 

2.       You must provide the links to your reviews so that we can share them with the author, bookmark them for social sharing, and perhaps use some of your feedback in marketing materials. Below you will see a description of our current review title along with a linkup at the bottom. Be sure to add the link to your review there.

 

3.       Include in your review the following:

  • Book image cover linked to the book on nlpg.com (found on product page at nlpg.com)
  • Video Book Trailer embedded in the blog post (found on product page at nlpg.com)
  • Mention of the author with links to his/her website and social media profiles when available (found on author bio page at nlpg.com)
  • Mention of the publisher and imprint with link to nlpg.com. For instance, “this book is published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group.”
  • At least 2 paragraphs of your review should be your own thoughts about the book. Only listing the information provided on the product page is unacceptable.
  • The link to the blog page where the review link-up is happening.
  • Pinnable (to Pinterest) images including quotes or images of the book will be shared and you will reap the traffic and SEO rewards!

Discussion Forum

Are books still being made available for review?

We recently moved back to Michigan and I've missed the wonderful books made available for review. I noticed that the "latest activity" was around May of this year with other posts referencing October 2013. Did I miss an email announcement somewhere…Continue

Started by Heather Hurley Sep 1, 2014.

Questions God Asks 14 Replies

In an attempt to make review posts easier to locate, we're going to try something new this month. Instead of commenting on the general wall for the group, Please share your review links here inside the designated discussion before going to…Continue

Started by April Keown. Last reply by Daniel Greegor Jun 24, 2014.

Next Book for Review? 7 Replies

When will the next book we available to review?Continue

Started by Ginger Barber. Last reply by valerie belley Apr 10, 2014.

The New Answers Book 4 3 Replies

Is there a link up for this one?Continue

Started by Anne Campbell. Last reply by April Keown Dec 3, 2013.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Book Reviewers for New Leaf Publishing Group to add comments!

Comment by Uma Maheswaran S on June 18, 2011 at 12:07am
Reading through the e-book of 'Already Compromised' this weekend. Looking forward to write my review next week once I complete reading it. It's engaging.
Comment by Carol Flett on June 17, 2011 at 10:37pm
Kim, that would be terrific if you want to share it.  I posted it on Amazon but it hasn't shown up yet.  I'm not sure why it's taking so long. Tomorrow I will try to post it on my blog.
Comment by Kimberly Guthrie on June 17, 2011 at 2:43pm

Great review of John Knox Cheryl! Very fun writing style!  Thanks for sharing!

 

In Christ,

Kim Jones

Comment by Kimberly Guthrie on June 17, 2011 at 2:42pm

Wow Carol and Nathanael and Noelia!  I absolutely LOVE the video book review!  It was a "BLAST" to watch!  You guys are so creative!  I'm so glad you are enjoying the book!  I LOVE your jokes in the book Nathanael and Noelia!  Thanks so much for the contribution!  I hope you don't mind me sharing this video review on my facebook page and blog too! 

 

Carol, thanks so much for taking the time to record this priceless review! (:  Your grandchildren reflect your spirit and love for the Lord in their lives!  I can see your influence on them!  What a wonderful ministry! 

 

Nathanael, I love your teaching about the Grand Canyon!  (:  Noelia - love your comments too!

 

Thank you all so much!

 

In Christ,

 

Kim Jones

 

Comment by Cheryl Cope on June 17, 2011 at 6:08am

Here's the link to my blog post for Life of John Knox review. http://www.cherylcope.com/life-of-john-knox/  Also sent published here, on Amazon, on CBD,  link on facebook, twitter, linkedin and several other social media site.

 

Comment by Hope Lyman on June 16, 2011 at 2:43pm
My review of Pieces of Light is published on my blog, Amazon and GoodReads. Another great book in the Dinah Harris series!
Comment by Cheryl Cope on June 16, 2011 at 1:29pm

Here's my review of Life of John Knox

Life of John Knox

I had a little difficulty finishing this book. I was unaccustomed to the style of writing. It was originally written in 1833, so the language used required a deeper level of concentration than what I am used to needing in reading. I liken it to being made to lift heavy weights, of which you haven’t lifted in many years. In the end, I thought that was actually a positive thing— I needed my reading level challenged!

Another attribute about the actual writing style was that it was “dry”. What I mean is that there was almost no descriptive language helping the reader picture the story in their heads. If it weren’t for the very liberal use of dialogue quotes, I’m not sure I could have even finished it. I wonder if the original writers  (from the American Sunday-School Union) were auditory learners as opposed to visual learners which may account for that particular aspect of the writing style.

The actual story itself—about John Knox— was very interesting. I particularly found the dialogues between him and Queen Mary fascinating (which illustrates the other plus for the plentiful use of dialogue quotes). I especially liked the conversation they had when he basically was justifying how subjects could and should overthrow their rulers. I can see why Queen Mary didn’t like him (and that’s putting it mildly).

Without the dialogue quotes it would have sounded like a dry textbook. In fact the book began with, “John Knox was born in the year 1505…”. How dry is that? But it does have the quotes and they more than “save” the book. Here’s a piece of one…”‘God forbid,’ replied Knox, ‘that I should ever command any to obey me, or set subjects at liberty to do whatever they please; my desire is, that both princes and subjects may obey God.”

Another bright point was through the plentiful and excellent use of dialogue, the great boldness and devotion that John Knox possessed in his character shone brilliantly through. As a Christian, It is well worth your while to study his life, and this book would make a good start.

One more “warning”. Since Knox was a literal protestant—protesting against the Roman Catholic Church of his time— modern day Catholics may find this book offensive.

For homeschoolers this book would be wonderful because this was written before scholars started re-writing history and as homeschool parents you would want your children to be exposed to different and more difficult to read styles of writing and as Christian parents you would  want your children to learn about devout historical Christians from the past.

Is this book for you? It depends. Are you Protestant? Do you like old historical books? Are you a homeschool parent? If you answered yes, to at least two of those, then you are sure to like this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Leaf Publishing Group’s blogging for books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 225: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Comment by Patricia Janes on June 16, 2011 at 8:38am
I Just completed my review on Bombus the Bee:
my blog http://pjtheemt.blogspot.com/2011/06/bombus-bumblebee-by-elsie-lars...
B&N http://my.barnesandnoble.com/communityportal/review.aspx?reviewid=1...

I still am working on two more reviews: Creation and the Second Coming and The Dark Side of Charles Darwin- these will take more time and thought to do these works the justice they deserve
Comment by Patricia Janes on June 16, 2011 at 8:10am
I just read Living Fossils and posted my review. When are volumes 3 and 4 going to be available?

My blog http://pjtheemt.blogspot.com/2011/06/living-fossils-by-dr-carl-wern...

B&N http://my.barnesandnoble.com/communityportal/review.aspx?reviewid=1...
Comment by Carol Flett on June 15, 2011 at 9:37pm
Sorry about that, I keep forgetting how to do this.  This should work better.
 
 
 

About CC

Connecting Christians who believe in Biblical Creation — discussing beliefs, sharing ideas, and recommending evolution-free resources. Please keep all posts relevant to the topics of this community.

Rules of Engagement
Zero Tolerance Policy
Statement of Faith
Creation Terms
FAQ

Homeschool Curriculum

Members

Creation Conversations 2018

What's new @ CC for 2018? 

Creation networking and much more in store for Creation Conversation Members. You'll not want to miss this new year!

© 2019   Created by Creation Conversations.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service